Used Cyclops Salesman

Standard Saber993

SCORE: 54 | 72 COMMENTS | 12820 VIEWS | IN 18 FOLDERS


Cruzio says... #1

have you considered Charmbreaker Devils as your lategame ?

May 6, 2013 4:28 a.m.

Jay says... #2

I think this could be cool in Modern with Kiln Fiend , Wee Dragonauts , and Surrakar Spellblade along with Assault Strobe , Distortion Strike , and maybe black for Tainted Strike .

May 6, 2013 10:56 a.m.

Saber993 says... #3

@Cruzio It's something to consider, but I've always tried to stay away from high cost cards. If anything, I'd rather try fitting in a Snapcaster Mage

@Jp3ngu1nb0y I agree... I'm sure someone has already tackled it but my knowledge of modern is rather lacking, though I would be interested in trying to cobble a modern version of this deck together.

May 6, 2013 9:17 p.m.

Delver of Secrets  Flip seems like he was born to be in this deck.

May 6, 2013 9:25 p.m.

BruceJuice says... #5

Hidden Strings = it's ramp...untap your lands, cast more spells for your nivmagusor just exile the cast spell and go to town

May 7, 2013 7:16 a.m.

smash10101 says... #6

Mugging and Skullcrack are musts in this type of deck, at least in the side board

May 7, 2013 7:22 a.m.

Percy says... #7

No Guttersnipe ? Seems rude to cast all those cheap spells and not hurt your opponent in the process. Love nivix cyclops decks.

May 8, 2013 3:54 a.m.

Fierce says... #8

Have you considered Vexing Devil ?Also instead of Dispel I would go with a Negate or Essence Scatter

May 8, 2013 4:05 a.m.

satchattack says... #9

May I suggest putting in a Reverberate into the deck to trigger Nivix Cyclops ability twice?

May 9, 2013 3:09 p.m.

Saber993 says... #10

Unfortunately, Nivix Cyclops ability is only triggered by playing a spell. The copy wouldn't actually cause the ability to activate again as you aren't playing another spell (Outside of the Reverberate of course)

May 9, 2013 4:45 p.m.

t3hSn0wm4n says... #11

wow.... +1 from me for the fantastic description.... :D

deck looks like a lot of fun. :D

also @saber993... I am fairly certain that the copy will work for the Nivix Cyclops trigger. just like copying a spell will trigger Guttersnipe . the text reads "when you cast an instant or sorcery" i believe you would have to ask a judge to be certain but when you copy a spell it will hit that trigger. :D

May 9, 2013 5:08 p.m.

Kre says... #12

Gridlock is a powerful spell that can go red line when needed.

Syncopate has amazing syngery with Nivix Cyclops because you can counter your own spell for 1 blue and counter it for 0. Neat little trick to give armed that little extra boost for cheap when Armed is played on cyclops.
Can also play armed and then play syncopate it for 0 , then exile spell to Nivmagus Elemental to get a counter and trigger the cyclops first before it resolves to elemental.

Also i feel like you have only blue creatures so the Blue ring from M13 is great for the 2 hexproof ability. delver and cyclops get big off Blue ring if left unchecked.

May 9, 2013 5:09 p.m.

Saber993 says... #13

Most of the discussion I've seen involving his ability states that a copy wouldn't trigger it, but I suppose a judge would be the go-to guy for this kind of thing, eh?

If it does however, that would be pretty awesome.

May 9, 2013 5:10 p.m.

t3hSn0wm4n says... #14

well like i said... i know that a copy will hit the Guttersnipe trigger. therefore it should do the same with cyclops... :D

May 9, 2013 5:13 p.m.

drakanar says... #15

Actually, a copied spell is not casted, it is merely placed onto the stack; neither Guttersnipe nor Nivix Cyclops will trigger. The only copy that comes to mind that WOULD trigger these would be from Isochron Scepter , as it says to "cast a copy of..." target spell.

May 9, 2013 5:18 p.m.

Saber993 says... #16

@ That's not something I had even considered and is a pretty cool trick if I must say so myself. My only concern would be that when Syncopate is actually being used to counter something, I have to leave more mana open than I would for a Dispel . Even given that Syncopate is broader in scope as a counter, my big fears that need to be countered are most likely to be played on my turn.

At the least however, this synergy puts Syncopate into my sideboard over Dissipate

@t3hSn0wm4n Then I'll have to look into it tomorrow!

May 9, 2013 5:18 p.m.

drakanar says... #17

However, if you are referring to the example with Reverberate , you would get a total of 2 triggers, 1 from the original spell, and 1 for casting Reverberate itself. As Reverberate doesn't actually "become" a copy of the spell and instead it gets casted and resolves, placing a copy of the target spell on the stack, Reverberate itself triggers.

May 9, 2013 5:21 p.m.

t3hSn0wm4n says... #18

@drakanar that is not what the judge at my event said tuesday bro. we ran into this issue. cast a copy of Searing Spear from the topdeck using the ability of Melek, Izzet Paragon . and he determined that the copy did in fact trigger Guttersnipe so even though i didnt deal damage to my opponent with those spears, but merely killed off his 2 remaining creatures, he still took 4 in the face from the Guttersnipe trigger... beyond what that judge said, I have no idea... :(

May 9, 2013 5:44 p.m.

cmskinny says... #19

You should some green for Wild Defiance ! :p And also to use the Dangerous side of Armed / Dangerous

May 9, 2013 6:12 p.m.

Jay says... #20

May 9, 2013 6:27 p.m.

Dritz says... #21

+1 for the name, and another +1 for the awesomeness of the idea.

May 9, 2013 7:58 p.m.

Jay says... #22

Pit Fight could actually work very well in here, as well as blood from Flesh / Blood if you did end up adding green.

May 9, 2013 8:01 p.m.

teslamon says... #23

how about Mizzium Mortars for beefing and board control

May 9, 2013 10:59 p.m.

TempoPlat says... #24

I'm gonna make this deck right now. It'll probably fail against the decks at my LGS but oh wells

May 9, 2013 10:59 p.m.

Saber993 says... #25

@teslamon The last iteration of the deck had Mizzium Mortars in it but I pulled it to make room for a little more spell control. Where would you fit it in?

@TempoPlat That's never stopped me in the past lol

May 9, 2013 11:08 p.m.

Please login to comment