God of passage
Spoilers, Rumors, and Speculation forum
Posted on April 12, 2014, 2:25 p.m. by Brickamator
How dose the god of passage work with tokens?
GoldGhost012 says... #3
It doesn't. The tokens are automatically exiled as they leave the battlefield.
April 12, 2014 2:29 p.m.
Tokens also die. And dying creatures trigger the ability. But if your opponent doesn't pay 3 life, nothing happens.
So, if anyone sees a benefit in losing 3 life for nothing, he could do that, I guess.
April 12, 2014 2:36 p.m.
Stay with me here --- Bogbrew Witch + Bubbling Cauldron + Festering Newt + athreos.
Jank? yes
Casual only? Yes
Doesn't make it any less funny in my mind. Lol
April 12, 2014 2:41 p.m.
InconspicuousPotato says... #6
Rules questions belong in the Q & A
For reference:
April 12, 2014 2:42 p.m.
@GoldGhost012 tokens do not automatically get exiled. Exile is another zone just like the graveyard, your library, the battlefield, or your hand. When a token is destroyed or dies from lethal damage it will go to the graveyard (any abilities that trigger from a creature dying, like athreos, will trigger) and as soon as it hits the graveyard it will cease to exist as a SBA. Ceasing to exist and being exiled are two completely different things.
April 12, 2014 2:43 p.m.
Also, look at the rulings and questions from Prince of Thralls , it's practically the same.
April 12, 2014 2:46 p.m.
GoldGhost012 says... #9
It's just much easier for me to say they get exiled and fizzle out of existence. Except I didn't include that last part in my explanation... I'm stupid!
April 12, 2014 2:47 p.m.
lol, I'm sure you meant no harm by what you said and it may be easier but like i said they are completely different things and when your explaining it to a knew player or to someone that doesn't know how it works it's probably best to explain it right. You may know what you mean when you say they get exiled and fizzle out of existence, but now the person you just explained it to thinks tokens get exiled and obviously they don't. It's just easier to not create any confusion than it is to explain things multiple times to someone because they were given misleading information. Oh well, no harm done, and now everyone knows for future reference lol.
April 12, 2014 2:58 p.m.
I wanted one of the last 2 gods to be good in my melira pod deck. At a first glance, this was self destructive (since kitchen finks would bounce), but you could sac this before finks. Having something that deals 3 damage, or gives you the creature you pod is pretty good, right?
April 12, 2014 3:35 p.m.
oh, you Supreme Verdict ? Do you also wanna pay 12 life with that?
April 12, 2014 3:43 p.m.
Exactly @ cr14mson. So good. Every removal spell in the format just got something it might have to worry about.
Technically speaking if you had this guy out they wouldn't verdict. But that's pretty much the point right?
CastleSiege says... #2
Tokens disappear when they leave the battlefield so they wouldn't go to your hand.
April 12, 2014 2:27 p.m.