Interaction between Warden of Evos Isle and Nimbus Swimmer

Standard forum

Posted on July 31, 2013, 4:41 p.m. by Varzens

If I cast a Nimbus Swimmer while having a Warden of Evos Isle in play, will it have an additional counter because of Warden's "creatures with flying cost 1 colorless mana less to cast"?

Goody says... #2

In a sense, yes. What actually happens is that, as you cast a spell, any choices (targets, X cost, modes) are chosen before you pay the costs. You choose X to be, say, 5 for Nimbus Swimmer . Because Warden of Evos Isle makes the spell cost 1 less to cast, you only need to pay 4UG for the creature.

July 31, 2013 4:50 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #3

Kind of.

When you cast a spell with X in its mana cost, you first declare what the value of X will be. You then pay for the spell. The payment is based on the value of X, not the other way around.

If you cast Nimbus Swimmer with X=0, then Nimbus Swimmer will cost UG and won't get any +1/+1 counters. If you cast Nimbus Swimmer with X=1, then it will cost UG and will get a +1/+1 counter.

Also, questions like this should be asked in the Q&A.

July 31, 2013 4:51 p.m.

Goody says... #4

Also, like Epoch always says, you should ask questions like this (rules related) in the MTG Q&A section of the forums

July 31, 2013 4:52 p.m.

Goody says... #5

Oh man it's as sure as rain that Epoch will show up

July 31, 2013 4:53 p.m.

This discussion has been closed