What does the star after the format mean?
TappedOut forum
Posted on Aug. 15, 2012, 4:50 p.m. by tynansdtm
My deck Paper Fliers is listed as Pauper* under its format. Other decks don't have the star. Do I have a card that's not Pauper-legal?
Jokernaught says... #3
If you have the PROTOTYPE box checked in the deck builder, it will also give a *Star, it's to represent a deck that is still in the developing stage.
August 15, 2012 5:47 p.m.
Aren't the Artifact lands banned in Pauper? Because, y'know, they're stupid-overpowered in it?
August 15, 2012 7:46 p.m.
The banned list for Pauper is Cranial Plating and Frantic Search . The Artifact lands are entirely legal in that format.
August 15, 2012 8:01 p.m.
Not sure how to highlight the correct answer, but thanks, Jokernaught. You're absolutely right. And Rhadamanthus, you're right as well. This was the wrong place to ask.
Rhadamanthus says... #2
MTG Q&A is for rules-related questions. This is a topic best suited for the TappedOut section of the Forums.
Yes, it's supposed to mean there's something in your deck that isn't legal in the format, but the format-checking system is known to be quirky sometimes and not always give the correct result. Also, there are many cards in the database that don't currently have complete legality metadata entered for them, but that doesn't seem to be a problem in your case. Try editing it, then when you save it, click "Save and Continue Editing" first, then click "Save" after it's done with that. I was able to fix one of my decks by doing that.
August 15, 2012 5:01 p.m.